(Updates) Mints: a comparison

This post will be a pictorial comparison of how well (or badly) my mints have been growing for the past two to three months since April 2009.

Some new mints have been added recently. As such, those will have no comparison pictures.

(FYI: I’ve never excelled in my designing of templates or stuff. So the comparison pictures design is really rudimentary at best.)


Apple mint from Paragon


The apple mint still looks a little sad now because I’d just washed it (and all other mints) with soap suds and then rinsed it.


Basil mints


Growing like weeds. I’ve only been feeding them water and sunlight, honest. And the daily spray of diluted seaweed extract.


Chocolate mint


I love you, choc mint.


Eu de cologne mint


My original planter box of EDCs were given to my guy. Then my pot got infested with mites and died. The new one was given to me by my guy who rooted them.


Grapefruit mint


Still as weird as ever, this one.


Lavender mints


Growing VERY well. The one on the farthest left is grown in the semi-hydroponics system/water reservoir system.


(Supposed) Moroccan mint


Whoooo…


Orange mints


These two pots bounced back very well from previous RSM attacks. Now, no RSMs bother them.


Variegated peppermint


No variegation at all. But growing pretty well.


Swiss mints


Another potential weed. XD


This is the type of typical mint you can find outside anywhere, at supermarkets or markets. People think it’s spearmint, but upon further research with a fellow friend, we have come to suspect it might be tashkentmint (spelling) instead. One of its leaves is growing almost as big as two of my fingers.


(Suspected) Black peppermint


From YK. I cleared his original one of RSMs and then propagated this pot back for him late last year, I think.


Various mints


From YK too. Think there’s the Isetan apple mint, EDC mint…


Unknown mints


Exchanges with someone.


Oh Chin Huat “peppermint”


Lemon mint from MCC during gathering.


Misc.


My lemon eucalyptus now.

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jan (ThanksFor2Day)
    Jul 09, 2009 @ 17:59:59

    It appears that they’ve all thrived and excelled way ahead of how they started out. What do you do with the various mint leaves? There is such a variety–do you make tea? What else? You have lots of children to tend to!!

    Reply

  2. skyfiery
    Jul 10, 2009 @ 02:33:17

    Hello Jan!

    Currently, I use them to scent a bit of stuff. I suffer from GERD/acid reflux so taking mint stuff is not terribly possible for me. However, I do use them for cooking (diluted enough so as not to affect me) and also for scenting ice cubes. XD

    Thank you for reading my post. =)

    Reply

  3. blur ting
    Jul 10, 2009 @ 03:21:22

    They’re all doing very well! You’re a mint expert!

    Reply

  4. skyfiery
    Jul 10, 2009 @ 03:41:24

    Heyas Ting!

    No lah. Mints are so easy to take care of if they’re not constantly badgered by pests. Lol.

    Reply

  5. Ivy
    Jul 19, 2009 @ 00:54:05

    Hey Skyfiery,

    I love your website. Recently I got a pot of Apple Mint (Isetan variety?) which I was very exited about. However, the leaves have become soft and kinda limp after a while. Would you be able enlighten me?

    Reply

  6. skyfiery
    Jul 23, 2009 @ 01:03:58

    Hi Ivy, I’ve written you an email on the 20th already. Let me know if you get it and if you need anymore help.

    Reply

  7. Claire
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 14:40:08

    hi,

    i’m also crazy about herbs and mints… may i know where can i get chocolate mints in singapore?

    Reply

    • skyfiery
      Jan 24, 2011 @ 14:41:49

      Hi Claire, you might want to find out when Hort Park is holding their bazaar. I know that they do sell a variety of mints there. You might be able to find chocolate mint during the bazaar, if I’m not wrong.

      Reply

      • Claire
        Jan 26, 2011 @ 08:56:28

        Thanks for the tip!

        U mentioned something about getting chocolate mint at paragon in one of your posts, which shop in paragon did you get it from?

  8. skyfiery
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 08:58:33

    Claire: No, I don’t think it was Paragon. It was at Isetan somewhere in town I think. At the market/cold storage section. But I don’t know if they still stock on mint cuttings. It’s been a very long time.

    Reply

  9. Claire
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 09:04:22

    Hmmm..just wondering, do you sell your mints?

    Reply

  10. laurabb
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 04:36:35

    Hi there,
    I have no idea about mint but I planted an unknown variety in a small pot inside my kitchen and it really took off. I’ve now replanted it outside in a bigger pot and it seems to keep being eaten by something. I did catch 2 caterpillars on it once. Also, the leaves are going yellowish and brittle. Not sure what’s going on. Do you think I need to bring them back inside?
    Any advice would be great!
    thanks!

    Reply

    • skyfiery
      Jan 27, 2011 @ 06:57:23

      Hi Laura,

      After so long, I’m actually still learning about the quirks of mints, so to be honest, I cannot really say why the leaves are yellowing. I do find that some variety of my mints seem to do that, while others don’t, even when all are placed under the same conditions. So perhaps it’s just a species trait.

      How often do you fertilize your mints?

      Reply

      • laurabb
        Jan 27, 2011 @ 09:20:26

        I’ve only recently started gardening and the mint is my first experiment so I have never used fertiliser. It was growing fine inside with just water and regular soil. Now outside I added another soil and started hoping for the best. I’m watering every couple of days (possibly over-watering).

  11. skyfiery
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 09:38:48

    Laura: If you have a picture, it will help a bit, I think.

    If it is outside, I am not too sure it is over-watering which is the problem. Are there brown or rotting stems? If the stems (especially the parts near the soil) are still green, then over-watering or water-logging shouldn’t really be the problem.

    Mints can, contrary to beliefs, be quite finnicky in temperament. I’m still killing quite a few pots of mints, even now.

    Reply

  12. travelwithjet
    Oct 01, 2012 @ 12:46:25

    hi skyfiery. this is a great blog. 🙂 i just started with gardening … yesterday. i found your blog through google. do you use soil with your plants or other medium for growth? thanks. i like your herbs. i like to have a huge variety of them someday.

    Reply

    • skyfiery
      Oct 02, 2012 @ 03:23:15

      Thank you, travelwithjet. This blog is actually retired and my new gardening blog is at: https://thegardenilivein.wordpress.com/

      I use only soil and gravel (pumice or LECA) with my plants, and fertilize them with organic stuff like worm castings and such.

      I love herbs too. But I’m also branching into some fragrant flowers. 🙂 Thank you for dropping by.

      Reply

  13. Andy's tree pruning
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 23:54:37

    I blog frequently and I really appreciate your information.
    Your article has really peaked my interest. I’m going to take a note of your blog and keep checking for new information about once per week. I opted in for your RSS feed as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

