Wednesday pre-work update

Focusing on edibles this morning before I went to work. They’re growing relatively well.


My rosemary plant and closeup.


Eau de cologne mint.


African violet babies.


Potato.


Onions/spring onions.


Live sphagnum moss on a lyer of dried sphagnum moss.


Lady’s fingers seedlings.


Seedlings I germinated for people – cinammon basil, catnip, lemon basil, lemon mint.


My own batch of seelings.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. James
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 15:12:07

    So how did your sphagnum moss experiment turn out? Which growing condition worked best in propogating the moss? I too grow carnivorous plants and have been looking for short fibered sphagnum moss for my bogs. The short moss tends not to bury the Venus Flytraps and Sundews. I’ve been looking for a supplier of the short type moss…not easy to find.

    Reply

    • skyfiery
      Aug 19, 2010 @ 15:17:50

      Hi James,

      Wow. Your question came two years later. This post was written in 2008. =)

      I’ve killed many propagation boxes of LSM. I’ve only just acquired a new batch to try again with. I seem to be keeping this batch alive at least, so…

      I leave them on a layer of peat moss, add enough water to cover the layer of peat, layer the LSM over the peat, and then cover the transparent propagation boxes up. They get about an hour or two of direct morning sun, and then just bright shade for the rest of the day.

      Reply

Leave a comment